Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Ohio State Not Classy


Two weeks ago Northwestern hosted the Ohio State Buckeyes. The past 3 years Ohio State had won by a margin of 128-40. The turnout for this game was looking to be the same considering Northwestern starting quarterback, leading tackler, 1st and 2nd string running backs were injured. But Northwestern came out strong and the score was only 21-10 in the Buckeyes favor at half time. The hung on and didn't let the score get too far away from them and it was 31-10 with 7 minutes left in the 4th quarter. The game was virtually over and Northwestern put in a lot of their second and third string players to get them some playing time.
Ohio State had the ball 4th and 15 and was getting ready to punt. But instead of punting they did a fake and picked up the first down and on the next play threw a long pass for a touchdown. If you know anything about football this is a very unclassy move and some of the NU fans were getting a little rowdy.
The score was now 38-10 and the game was for sure over now but once again Ohio State decided to be jerks and with 6 seconds left in the game they scored another touchdown. This was like a big unnecessary kick in the genital region. Ohio State is a very unclassy team and they should receive some sort of sanction from the Big ten for this type of behavior.

2 comments:

colin said...

I really like the way your blog is focused on one subject. I also think that the way your personal opinions/voice shows throughout your posts

smiddleton said...

I AGREE! Ohio State is unclassy, unprofessional, and just all around a college with sports teams that just... need to shape up their act! I am very anti-Ohio State, and I watched this game and was appalled by what they did with the fake-punt. I never heard if the Big Ten took action, but I highly doubt it since in the past Ohio State has gotten off with many worse moments of unsportsmanlike conduct and inappropriate game playing. I hope that they become unsuccessful in future football seasons-because I am a strong advocate for the CLASSY teams winning! Yeah Northwestern!